Tropical Cyclone Field Experiment Dataset

Since 2007, Shanghai Typhoon Institute has carried out field experimental observations on tropical cyclones (TCs) making landfall in, or affecting, China, cooperating with many meteorological departments, scientific research institutions and universities. By the end of December 2019, a total of 30 TCs in the southeast coastal area of China have been captured and a number of special observation data (GPS sounding, ultrasonic wind temperature meter, laser raindrop spectrometer, wind profile radar and microwave radiometer observation, etc.) have been obtained, which formed the "Tropical cyclone field experiment dataset" released here.

The spatial scope of this dataset is the coastal areas of East China and South China, and the specific location of the single observation points is shown in the corresponding data description document. The time resolution of data depends on the observation frequency or the processing algorithm of the observational instruments.

In order to make these data play a greater role in the tropical cyclone related disaster prevention and mitigation, Shanghai Typhoon Institute will gradually share the dataset with the public according to the specific situation of different data. At present, the list of TCs with field experiment data open to the public through this website is shown in the below (table 1).

Table1. The list of TCs with field experiment data open to the public through this website
Year TC Name
2014 Fung-wong
2015 Chan-hom, Mujigae
2016 Nepartak, Meranti, Megi, Sarika
Citation
  • Please indicate the data source: Tropical Cyclone Field Experiment Dataset of Shanghai Typhoon Institute (tcdata.typhoon.org.cn) if using part or all of the dataset.
Statement
  • This website provides tropical cyclone related data in accordance with the relevant laws and regulations of the People’s Republic of China and meteorological data sharing provisions. The data of this website is for research reference only and shall not be used for commercial purposes. China Meteorological Administration, Shanghai Typhoon Institute and the website are not responsible for any loss caused by the use (or inability to use) of the data of this website.

热带气旋外场观测试验资料集

自2007年起,上海台风研究所与多家气象部门内外的业务单位、科研机构及高校合作,在我国东南沿海地区开展了30个热带气旋的外场观测试验(截止2019年12月),获取了多项特种观测资料(GPS探空、超声风温仪、激光雨滴谱仪、风廓线雷达及微波辐射计观测等),并整理形成了“热带气旋外场观测试验资料集”。

“热带气旋外场观测试验资料集”的空间范围是华东和华南沿海地区的单个观测点,具体观测点位置详见对应资料的说明文件。资料时间分辨率取决于观测仪器的观测频率或处理算法。

为使这些资料能够发挥更大的防台减灾效益,上海台风研究所将视资料的具体情况逐步向社会开放共享。目前通过本网站向社会开放共享的外场观测试验热带气旋清单见下表。

表1. 开放共享的外场观测试验热带气旋清单
年份 热带气旋名称
2014 凤凰
2015 灿鸿,彩虹
2016 尼伯特,莫兰蒂,鲇鱼,莎莉嘉
资料引用
  • 使用本数据集的部分或全部数据时,请注明出处:
    上海台风研究所“热带气旋外场观测试验资料集” (tcdata.typhoon.org.cn)
申明
  • 本站在符合中华人民共和国相关法律法规和气象资料共享规定的条件下提供热带气旋相关资料。本站资料仅供研究参考,不得用于商业用途。中国气象局、上海台风研究所和本站概不对本站资料运用(或无法运用资料)所造成的任何损失负责。